Why I’m Leaving Facebook

By: Jane

Mar 11 2011

Category: Uncategorized

9 Comments

FaceBook has been a truly wonderful thing for me. I’ve reconnected with people that I haven’t seen in years, and am in continual contact with old, new and current friends. People that I don’t see every day – as well as people that I do see every day – are practically in my living room every evening. I’m going to miss coming home every night and sitting down with my glass of wine and my laptop to see what’s been going on in the world and in the lives of my friends all day. (Geez….writing that last sentence is causing me to reconsider….)

But more and more I feel like I’m being pushed around by world bullies…..politicians, state and local governments, oil and energy companies, and now FaceBook. This particular bully seems to me to be saying,”If you want to play in my yard you have to let me do whatever I want.” So, I’m taking my marbles and going home. I have to drive and pay my electric bill, and voting really doesn’t seem to me to make a whole lot of difference, no matter who wins. But this is one area where I get to decide whether I want to participate or not.

FaceBook has decided that they’re going to sell my personal contact information to third party advertisers and solicitors. Already some of my FaceBook friends have been asking, “How did telemarketers get my cell phone number?” Some of my friends have suggested that I shouldn’t have given any personal information when I signed up. Well, I didn’t give it for my profile. But I wasn’t thinking about that when I got the free app for my cell phone…and now they have my phone number. (I HATE talking on the phone. Up until now, I’ve known that the only people who could call me on my cell were people to whom I’d personally given the number. But I digress.) And, maybe I’m wrong, but isn’t an email address required to sign up for FaceBook? Maybe I’ll be changing that soon, too. What a pain.

So, I just want to tell you all that being able to hear what’s going on in your lives has been something I’ve eagerly anticipated every day, and valued. I’m REALLY going to miss you. I have to admit…I’ve copied and filed my friend list, just in case I change my mind. And, I hope that before Monday you will message me your email address, or check out

https://youonlyhavetogetthrutoday.wordpress.com/2011/02/19/hello-world/

But right now I’m just mad about the sneakiness of FB…this is about the 5th time in the last couple of years they’ve done something along these lines, and, although they’ve never tried to hide it, never once have they been up front about it and let FB users know what they were doing. I’m just tired of being pushed around. Or at least feeling like I’m being pushed around.

Maybe I’m just taking out my frustrations on the one thing I can control. Maybe I’m getting old.
Whine whine whine.

Love you guys. :0)

9 comments on “Why I’m Leaving Facebook”

  1. Kinda akes me reconsider, but I only really go on to play the games here and there….

  2. You are a classic example of someone I was thrilled to reconnect with after…what…20 years?! And then I got to see you AND your little guy face to face…never would have happened without FB. In one respect it’s WORTH having my privacy invaded. But do you remember when they opened up eveyone’s FB pages to Google and other search engines without mentioning that we might want to change our privacy settings? Now this. I wish there was a way to opt out of having your info divulged…but I haven’t seen anything like that.

  3. I went off facebook for the same reasons but was never able to word it as eloquently as you when folks asked why. So, thanks for saying what I couldn’t. I know NOTHING about blogs, but maybe I’ll figure it out 🙂 Good to hear from you Janie!!

  4. “You know how everything has seemed free for the past few years? It wasn’t. It’s just that no one told you that instead of using money, you were paying with your personal information.”

    Read more: http://www.time.com/time/business/article/0,8599,2058114,00.html#ixzz1GttL6On9

  5. Oh my word, this could’ve been written by me! Facebook is something I struggle with on a regular basis, but my life has been so enriched by it that I’m afraid to throw the baby out with the bathwater.

    Facebook has not only impacted my relationships as you’ve described; it has literally changed my life. When I first heard of it, I had absolutely no interest in getting involved. It was only through the insistence of my children that I eventually created an account. In the beginning, I was too intimidated to write anything. Over time, I’ve gradually come out of my shell, and as a result, have grown exponentially as a person. My personal history includes decades of abuse– primarily emotional and psychological. During that time, I didn’t have “a voice”… it was simply one of many rights I sacrificed on the altar of self-preservation. Facebook has been the perfect tool to help me rediscover that voice, and exercise it at my own pace. Not only have I gained confidence in using my voice and speaking my truth, but I’ve also discovered a latent talent for writing. The positive feedback I’ve received from friends and strangers on Facebook has not only provided validation to accelerate my recovery from abuse, but also inspiration for future endeavors. I’m returning to college to pursue a degree in communications– a decision I’m fairly confident would not have been made if not for the influence of Facebook.

    So… I too, have a love-hate relationship with the social media giant. But for now, the scales are tipping in Facebook’s favor. Like everything else in life, one has to determine for him/herself if the payout is worth the investment.

    Regardless, it has been a pleasure to get to know you again 🙂

  6. Hi Amy!
    I have to admit, since I wrote this I have reactivated my FaceBook account. I had a real good excuse…..
    I have found, though, that I’m not on it nearly as much as I used to be, mainly because I found WordPress. AND…I found WordPress because of you. You directed me one time to the blog “Everyday Intensity.” I subscribed, and soon found that WordPress is free and open to anyone to start a blog. I too have always loved writing and I have so enjoyed just communicating whatever is on my mind to anyone who cares to read it. I feel a little freer here to express myself than I do on FaceBook…I’m not sure why. maybe it’s the sheer volume of words.
    Anyway, I have you to thank for finding this opportunity to take pleasure in practicing my writing. I think YOU should start one!
    HOW COOL that you have gone back to school!!!!

  7. PS to Amy…..And it has been a pleasure getting to know you again too!
    :0D

  8. […] the whole issue of Face Book’s loosey goosey privacy policies arose, and I decided to give blogging a try instead. I ultimately returned to Face Book, because I […]


Leave a Reply

