Skinny and organized. Not.

By: Jane

Mar 21 2011

Category: Uncategorized

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2.7
Focal Length:6mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/64 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C813 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was a teenager, and pretty much since then, a lot of attention was paid to the way women’s weight has been idealized in the media, so that many women feel they don’t measure up if they aren’t a size 2. I actually starved myself for a couple of years, until I realized that I could not live the rest of my life feeling guilty about satisfying the basic human need for food.

I’m finding the same thing to be true of homemaking/housekeeping/organization. Every magazine has articles on getting organized. Whole books have been written about it, stores devoted to it, a profession has been generated by organized people who make a living helping the rest of us to become like them.

Our house is organized enough that we can usually find what we need when we need it. I often feel depressed, though, and not good enough, because our home is not a totally organized, everything in its place, spic and span palace. I’ve been hoping, praying and striving for years to become “an organized person.” I seem to be unable to either create an organized home, or accept it (and myself) as is. Maybe I need to learn to see myself as “organized enough” and not feel the need to become OCD about my home, car, desk and classroom.

If only my life was perfect.

4 comments on “Skinny and organized. Not.”

  1. No one and nothing can ever be perfect. As humans we do the best we can and if you’re doing your best you can rest assure that it’s as perfect as it’s going to get! God loves you no matter what so your praying and striving for better is not unnoticed!

    God Bless you happy writing…thanks for stopping by my blog and subscribing! I appreciate your time.

  2. Thank YOU Ms. Peaches. I agree 100%. :0)

  3. I think there’s beauty in balancing out those two sides. Being organized (or skinny) could be wonderful, but at what cost? Giving time and energy to one thing always takes from another. I could be folding laundry right now, but am choosing to catch up on your blog (with a sleeping baby on my lap) because it’s much more enjoyable. šŸ™‚ The laundry can wait for a little while.

  4. Reading with a sleeping baby on your lap sounds like heaven to me. :0) I can’t tell you how much I appreciate that this is one of the things you choose to read!

    Sometimes I look at the clutter…on my desk, in my bedroom, in my car, in any number of closets, the basement, the garage etc. etc. and I could just cry. It looks so overwhelming to me that I just turn around and walk away. On those rare occasions that I actually accomplish something it feel so good that I wish I could do it more. I don’t know what clicks when I AM able to do that.


Leave a Reply

