Why do bad things happen to good people? That only happened once and He volunteered. ~R.C. Sproul

By: Jane

Mar 26 2011

Category: God

Leave a comment

High Priest:”What do you have to say about the charges against you?”
Jesus: Silence.
(Matt: 26:62-63.)

Chief Priests and Elders: “Well?”
Jesus: Silence.

Pilate: “Don’t you hear what they’re saying about you?”
Jesus: Silence.
(Matt: 27: 12-14.)

Herod: “Tell me everything about yourself and this situation.”
Jesus: Silence.
(Luke: 23:8-10)

Pilate: “Where are you from?”
Jesus: Silence.
(John 19:8-9)

Why did Jesus remain silent instead of speaking up for Himself?

It wasn’t just so that another prophecy could be fulfilled. (Isaiah 53:7) He knew and understood the plan that we should be redeemed and justified by His death, and He played right into it.

What might have happened if He had spoken up? He was innocent and He was God, so chances are pretty good that He could have proven His innocence and gone free. But then there would have been no death, no resurrection, and we’d be right back to square one with life on earth being a colossal waste of time. We’d be working our way toward nothing.

I take back what I said about bad things “happening” to Jesus in my previous post. Nothing ever just happened to Him. He worked the plan, and He gave His life in my place.

Most of the time, when things are going well, I think that I must be doing what God wants me to do and being blessed. When I run into trouble, difficulties, tragedy, I start crying to God to “make it stop” and “get me out of this.” Could it be that if I knew the plan I’d walk willingly into the trouble?

But He was God,(still is), and I’m not. There’s no way I can “know the plan” in the same detail that He does. So what do I do?

I listen to what I DO know that He is saying: “No matter what happens, just trust Me.”

Leave a Reply

