The Addictive Personality

A friend of mine questioned whether my reference to drug addiction in my previous post, (Face Book Again), was helpful. First, I apologize to anyone I may have offended. Second, I offer this explanation: Anyone who knows me well, (which, I’m afraid, is about 7 people…my fault), can tell you that I have an addictive personality. I will latch onto something or someone, and become quite obsessive.

Fortunately for me, my addictions have never taken the drug and alcohol route, but they are just as surely addictions. I’m usually troubled by them when there is some other issue that I don’t want to deal with, or am afraid that I can’t deal with. At least twice now, the issue has been grief. They cause similar, if not as dramatic, problems as serious physical addictions: time spent away from things that should be my priorities. God, family and productivity go by the wayside when I become fixated on technology, Face Book, shopping, (blogging.. uh oh.) I have spent considerable time with a counselor, trying to understand myself and overcome the personality flaws that cause me so much difficulty. Face Book is a very good example of just such an addiction. If I’m going to stay on there, I’m going to have to set boundaries and learn the self discipline to stick to them. Hmmmm…maybe it wasn’t just anger at the Big Brother syndrome that caused me to take a break. You know…there’s all kinds of things in here that I don’t even know about until I start talking/writing.

So, although the drug addiction metaphor may not be pleasant to read, it is a very clear indicator of my personality. Great. An introverted, disorganized, addictive/obsessive wife/mom/friend/music teacher/church musician.

Now for the flip side of the same coin. I am accepting of other people, knowing that I myself am deeply flawed. My insecurities and over sensitivity are the very same qualities that make me sensitive to others. (usually.) I am also forgiving, for the same reason that I am accepting: I know how much I need forgiveness and acceptance.

I know that to anyone who does not have an addictive personality, everything I’ve described doesn’t sound like such a big deal. But just get to know me. I’ll drive ya nuts.

Post Script: I am growing, learning and getting better all the time…even when I mess up. Maybe because i mess up. :0)

5 comments on “The Addictive Personality”

  1. Me too. I’m pretty sure it’s from being parented and grandparented by alcoholics. It’s in the genes. So, I make choices. And when God showed up in my late 20’s, I was able to walk away from a lot of things. Compared to those years, FB is cakewalk. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. even as a kid I was very obsessive about things – if I was interested in Power Rangers I’d know EVERYTHING, or whatever new thing came my way. That still comes up, some people just having that sort of wiring. So I’m pickin’ up on what you’re throwin’ down ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. “An introverted, disorganized, addictive/obsessive wife/mom/friend/music teacher/church musician”…. that is one of the most kind, loyal, gracious and giving people I know! Like you said we are all flawed, some of us just don’t know it or want to admit it. LOL ๐Ÿ™‚
    You are loved by many…and obviously by the most important one…the big man upstairs…LOL!

  4. Hey Jules! I love you!
    :0)

  5. I can definitely relate! I have a few addictions of my own and I work hard to keep them in check. I am addicted to Coca Cola, which I don’t keep in check and drink vast quantities of it daily. I also can be addicted to shopping, which I have to work SO HARD to fight. (Doesn’t help having a part time job at a clothing store.) Every day is a struggle to control the urge to buy something.


Leave a Reply

