The Benefits of Devotional Journaling

By: Jane

Apr 07 2011

Category: God

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8

Concentration is a problem for me. It seems I can be easily distracted in just about everything that I do, and this is quite evident in my attempts at prayer, Bible reading and study.

So, quite some time ago i got into the habit of devotional journaling – writing down my thoughts about whatever I’m reading/studying, and writing my prayers. (Writing prayers is beneficial, not just in maintaining my focus, but also in being able to go back days, weeks, months later, and see what kinds of answers I’ve received.)

This morning my journaling took the form of copying a passage from the Bible that I found particularly significant. As I copied it, I meditated upon it, and as I meditated it was transformed for me.

Isaiah 58: 6-12

“Is this not the fast which I chose, to loosen the bonds of wickedness, to undo the bands of the yoke, And to let the oppressed go free. and break every yoke? Is it not to divide your bread with the hungry, and bring the homeless poor into the house?”

I don’t think God is saying that this is the fast He chose for us. He chose it for Himself for our good. (Specifically, for my good, and for the good of anyone who will listen to Him.) He fasted from the presence of His own Son, and gave His life for the purpose of loosening the bonds of wickedness and the bands that held me captive; to let me go free. He divided the bread of life with me, and brought me into His own home.

Now He asks the same of me on a smaller scale. ” Remove the yoke from your midst” Where do I see oppression, and what can I do about it, however small my deed may be? “Remove the pointing of the finger and speaking wickedness.” In other places in scripture, that might translate to “Judge not, lest you be judged yourself.”
“Give yourself to the hungry, and satisfy the desire of the afflicted.”

I’ve been given a lot, and not just so I can keep it all for myself. Time, talent, financial resources and my relationship with the Father and the Son are all to be shared. I need to remember that it’s not all about me.

Leave a Reply

