Why I Write, Why I Blog

By: Jane

Apr 23 2011

Category: Blogging/writing

8 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8

In Case You Were Wondering What I Look Like

Saturday, April 23, 2011. 9:00 A.M.
Raining.

Ah, the pleasure of sitting in my comfy chair, watching the rain come down, cup of coffee on the side table, fountain pen and notebook in hand. I love the physical act of putting ink on paper. I love the solitude. I love how writing my thoughts gives me time to meditate on what I’m writing, and leads me to another thought. Writing is comfort to me.

I have always wanted to write, and there have been isolated times when it’s come in handy for communicating clearly something that needed to be said. Journaling has also been a big part of my life, and even though they contain mostly mundane accounts of daily life, prayers and thoughts, I can’t get rid of my journals. They’re piling up in a closet, and I can’t decide whether to burn them before I die, or leave them behind for others to see who I really was.

And now I have found blogging. It started because my cousin, Amy Clifford Roy, sent me a link on Face Book to Everyday Intensity, Lisa Rivero’s blog on writing, creativity, personality traits, gifted children, current events – a potpourri of interesting articles. Amy sent the link because of an article on introversion and highly sensitive personalities – a topic I want to look into because it seems to be pretty much me.

Then the whole issue of Face Book’s loosey goosey privacy policies arose, and I decided to give blogging a try instead. I ultimately returned to Face Book, because I found that, although related, Face Book and WordPress are siblings with entirely different personalities.

On Face Book I tend to be just about who everybody thinks I am. I have the advantage of being able to stay in touch with a multitude of friends and acquaintances, which is something I’m really bad at without a computer. But because there are so many people out there, and because, truthfully, I’m not all that secure, I don’t say a whole lot.

Blogging is more like sitting down with one person at a time and having an “in depth” conversation. I think I’m able to reveal more of myself this way – what is really important to me and what I truly think, and think about. In return, I’m getting to know a few people that I didn’t know so well before, and even a few that I’ve never met.

I feel freer to be myself because only the people who really want to read this stuff have to read it. I’m not posting everything on Face Book and bothering 400 people with it. (Although I do post a link now and then so that anyone who might be interested will know there’s something new to read.)

So. If you happen to be reading this and would like to talk a bit, please feel free to comment. I really like to have conversations…..one person at a time. (See the category “Personality Types” if you’re not sure what I mean by that.)

AND, if you really enjoy writing, I highly recommend this blogging thing. (Chris? Amy?) I’ll be your first subscriber. :0)

Recommended blogs: http://everydayintensity.com/
Writing Life

And, for the spiritually minded: Charlie’s Church of Christ
Meditations from Zion

8 comments on “Why I Write, Why I Blog”

  1. Jane, it’s so good to see people journal and blog. I am not one to take the time to do so. I know I should. My husbands older brother passed away recently, and he liked to journal, especially when he went fishing. He left his daughter, and son, and grandchildren with beautiful gifts of insight to his soul. Personal letters were written, and other journals.
    It is a very selfless gift to give, and share. Thank you for yours and giving the encouragement to others to take the leap.

  2. Marcene, I think you should only take the time to do it if you get something out of it. It doesn’t have to be an every day thing either….sometimes it just helps to write out whatever may be on your mind. It helps you figure things out. It’s like your own built in counselor.
    I’m so sorry to hear about your brother in law. Please pass my love onto your husband, and keep plenty for yourself. But what you’ve said about his journals gives me a bit more food for thought on what to do with mine.
    Thanks for sharing this with me. xoxoxo

  3. I have enjoyed reading your blogs but was not sure that they were written by you! They are quite interesting and insightful!

    • Thanks Eileen! I’m glad you’re enjoying them. I guess maybe I ought to put my name on here someplace….
      And maybe a picture that’s actually recognizable. :0)

  4. I appreciate your ability to pick up thoughts at random and bring yourself to them. thanks.

  5. thanks for the shout out! face book is fantastic for keeping in touch but there is just something about blogging – you really get to flesh out what you really think, and if you do that on facebook people get annoyed.


Leave a Reply

