Mother’s Day

By: Jane

May 08 2011

Category: God, Grieving

9 Comments

Sunday, May 8, 2011, 6:50 A.M.
Mother’s Day.

So far I’m not having too rough of a time. Mother’s Day, for some reason, has been the holiday that gives me the most trouble since Mike died. I’ve never thought of it as a big deal holiday, so it surprises me when it’s an emotionally difficult day for me. But…I’ve only been up for half an hour, and the trouble usually starts in church. I’m ready for it this morning. We’ll see what happens.

5:50 P.M.
Well, emotionally speaking, I’ve had worse Mother’s Days. The sadness came, but, perhaps because THIS time I was expecting it, it wasn’t a debilitating, lay -on- the -sofa- and -cry sort of depression. I wondered aloud to Steve earlier, why Mother’s Day gives me such a hard time. He said, “Because it’s MOTHER’S day.” I guess it’s not just a Hallmark holiday after all.

Thank You, Father, for these blessings: for the blessing of being a mother; for children who will stay home and take care of the dog so that I can go to the beach, and for children who will spend the day shopping on the boardwalk with me; for children who have come and gone, and for making it possible for that child to be with you now. Thank you for the blessing of having Steve for a husband. Thank You. Thank You.

9 comments on “Mother’s Day”

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, Jane! Hope you had a wonderful time at the beach, and I’m glad today was not as emotionally taxing as some other years. You are loved and missed!

  2. my little daughter is sick today and my heart is soft. This is a touching post and know you are in my thoughts today.

  3. Happy Mothers Day to my second Mom! It’s monday now and I hope your week goes by fast so you can enjoy yet another weekend, here or at the beach. Love ya!

  4. Hey mom! I just saw this and wanted to tell you that you were in my thoughts. I know you’ve had many of us pass through your doors over the years, but I don’t want you to think that we’re ever gone. You and Steve were like second parents to me (for better and for worse) and I just want you to know that I love you both for it! Know that ALL of your kids will always love you, no matter how far away we are or how long it’s been.

    You and Steve give each other a huge bear hug for me!

    • Ryan, we love you too! We’ll do the hug thing, but we’re waiting to get one from you personally, too. And likewise, no matter how far you go or how long it’s been, you ARE a Rivera. And don’t forget it. :0)


Leave a Reply

