Dakota, One Last Time.

By: Jane

May 19 2011

Category: Uncategorized

10 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8

Last night we gave Dakota the gift of freedom from suffering, and sent her off to find her sister, Montana, who left her behind with us almost exactly two years ago. Many of you told me that when it was time, we would know it, and you were right. I miss her so much, but I could not bear to see her go on the way she was yesterday. She had stopped eating, and would not stir, even to go outside. She didn’t lift her head when I came into the room…only her eyes.

She hasn’t been able to walk without our help for a year. I don’t remember the last time I could be sure she was happy. She was no longer able to wag her tail, due to the paralysis in her back legs.

We have a wonderful vet, Dr. Banzoff, who gave us his cell phone number and told us to call when we thought she needed him. He came to the house last night at almost 10:00 P.M. This allowed her to leave us from her own bed, with her head resting in my arms.

It was our gift to her.

Run Koti. Go find Tani.

10 comments on “Dakota, One Last Time.”

  1. Glad she is not suffering…she had one of the best lives a dog could hope for. Much love to you and Steve. Great picture. šŸ™‚

  2. Love and hugs Jane. Feel comfort in the beautiful life you gave to Dakota and Montana. I’m sure they are running and playing together in Heaven’s meadows ready to serve as your guardian angels. I’m here for you Jane if you need anything! Love ya!

  3. i’m sure it was so hard and yet so good to have her go from your bed. Glad to hear you knew the timing and that you are at peace with it.

  4. Oh Jane, my heart breaks for you both. It is the most difficult decision that we ever have to make. You DO know when it is right, but it doesn’t take away the pain. Both Koti and Montana were so lucky – what a WONDERFUL life they shared with you and Steve! And how wonderful that they felt your love at the end.
    Remember – not gone but only gone before . . . not lost but only lost from sight . . . not parted only just apart . . . in memory kept close at heart and waiting to greet someday.
    Hugs!!!!

    • Thank you, Sue! I know you’ve been in this place more than once. I’m trying to remember….the adjustment just takes a while, as you well know. The house feels empty. Thank you so much for your love and prayers!

  5. I am so sorry, Jane.

  6. Jane, I am so sorry for your loss. I am sure she is running and playing now like she used to and loving it.


Leave a Reply

