Introverted Energy (via Writing Life)

Introversion is a topic and personality that really interests me, because I am an introvert, and because I am gradually learning to accept myself as an introvert and feel less and less the compulsion to behave as an extrovert simply because it’s what I so often see and experience around me.

I’m a subscriber to Lisa Rivero’s blogs, “Writing Life” and “Everyday Intensity” because they so often touch on topics that impact me. She could have posted this one on either one of her blogs. She mentions “highly sensitive personality”, which I’m going to look into further because, at first look, it would seem that there’s a bit of that in me as well…and maybe you too.

Here’s her post for today.

"[I]introverts are people who find other people tiring" ~ Jonathan Rauch A StumbleUpon suggestion this morning led to me to a very good list of Top Ten Myths About Introverts, my favorite being this: Myth #5 – Introverts don’t like to go out in public. Nonsense. Introverts just don’t like to go out in public FOR AS LONG. They also like to avoid the complications that are involved in public activities. They take in data and experiences very quickly … Read More

via Writing Life

3 comments on “Introverted Energy (via Writing Life)”

  1. Jane, I’m very happy that this post was meaningful! Understanding what makes introverts tick is one of my passions, because it can dramatically change our understanding and acceptance of ourselves and those around us.

    Thank you for the generous mention. 🙂

  2. Lisa, I find so many of your posts meaningful that I sometimes feel we must be connected somewhere back in the family lineage. I find that, now that I know what an introvert is, I have a better understanding of why I do and feel some of the things that I do….or don’t, for that matter.
    Both of your blogs are terrific!

  3. […] Introverted Energy (via Writing Life) (youonlyhavetogetthrutoday.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

