Friendship

By: Jane

Jun 22 2011

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

Ten years ago I entered a mall salon, and was assigned a stylist. Her name was Janel, and she is probably my direct opposite. She’s younger, I’m older; she’s an extrovert, I’m an introvert; She’s a risk taker, I’m cautious. We are unlikely friends – the wild and the reserved.

Yet in those ten years a relationship has developed that exceeds stylist/client. Why would this be? Several factors come to mind:

* Janelis an extrovert. Introverts are easily exhausted by activities like making conversation. Janel’s outgoing nature makes that unnecessary. Besides, you don’t “make conversation” with Janel. Therefore, I know a lot about her. Her openness allowed me to reveal more of myself than I normally would. I know that she lost her mom as a teenager, and when my son died a few years ago, there was no question that I would confide in her. We’ve seen each other through several such life events.

* I’m loyal. In ten years, Janel has changed salons four times, and I have followed. The first time it was because I like the way she cuts my hair, but after that it was a because that’s what you do for a friend.

* We are mutually honest. I know that Janel will tell the truth, about my hair, my eating habits or differences in our core beliefs. I do the same for her. A while ago she invited me to her housewarming party. Lots of strangers…an introvert nightmare. But she knew exactly what I meant when I said, “Ok, but I probably won’t stay very long.”

The day before the party, one of my introvert friends asked, “Are you going because you want to, or because you feel like you should”?

I answered, “I’m going because I value Janel’s friendship.”

Unlikely, but true.

Leave a Reply

