2012-1776=236

By: Jane

Jul 04 2011

Category: God

3 Comments

Monday, July 4, 2012
8:30 A.M.

We are house sitting this week for friends… Or more accurately, dog sitting their beautiful Golden Retriever. In the photograph, Millie is watching over her back yard, while I sit behind her, sipping my coffee and taking her picture. I was enjoying the beautiful morning, when it occurred to me that today is Independence Day. I am able to sit here in freedom and peace, because of an idea for which patriots of this country sacrificed, for their own sakes, their children’s sakes, and for my sake, 236 years later.

I have never been required to make such courageous choices – my life, my home, my family – for an idea that might or might not work. But it did work. And now I reap the benefits of their courage, hard work, and sacrifice. Thank You, God, that I was born in this country.

3 comments on “2012-1776=236”

  1. Amen to that post…..

  2. And now for a word regarding my skewed math skills. It’s 2011, isn’t it. Sheesh.


Leave a Reply

