Stuff You See on FaceBook

By: Jane

Sep 25 2011

Tags: ,

Category: God, iPhone Photography

5 Comments

Colby College Chapel


I saw this poem on a friends FaceBook page this morning and I really liked it:

I was shocked, confused, bewildered As I entered Heaven’s door,
Not by the beauty of it all, Nor the lights or its decor.
But it was the folks in Heaven Who made me sputter and gasp–
The thieves, the liars, the sinners, The alcoholics and the trash.

There stood the kid from seventh grade Who swiped my lunch money twice.
Next to him was my old neighbor Who never said anything nice.
Jack, who I always thought Was rotting away in hell,
Was sitting pretty on cloud nine, Looking incredibly well.

I nudged Jesus, ‘What’s the deal? I would love to hear Your take.
How’d all these sinners get up here? God must’ve made a mistake
And why is everyone so quiet, So somber – give me a clue.’

‘Hush, child,’ He said, ‘They’re all in shock.
No one thought they’d be seeing you.’

JUDGE NOT!!

5 comments on “Stuff You See on FaceBook”

  1. That’s funny. Something to think about.

  2. Everything is a matter of perspective, is it not? We form judgments ALL THE TIME based on a very limited perspective: our own. We don’t do this purposefully . . . it’s simply our default mode. By recognizing this natural tendency, we’ll be able to spot the errors of our ways. We’ll be able to see how making assumptions about people is the exact same thing as making judgments based on incomplete information. Forming a conclusion about someone based solely on our (limited) perspective of them is akin to condemning them to the electric chair based on circumstantial evidence alone. Same theory, different application.

    In either instance, the judgment may be right– or the judgment may be wrong. Every human being is inherently worthy, and passing judgment on someone before ALL the facts are in is a direct violation of their human rights. Making a personal judgment on someone through stereotyping or other generalizations may not send a lethal dose of electricity through their body, but it will serve to harm them nonetheless. It’s a difficult pattern to break out of, but one well worth the time and effort– for ourselves, each other, and the whole of humanity.

  3. my mom sez I’ll be there too – heh heh oh and mom sez hi to you! I send you big smoochies!

    • Hi EmmaLou!
      If I never get to meet you here, I’ll meet you there. I’m sure Goldens are in demand there as well as here. :0). Tell Mom I said hi back to her!


Leave a Reply

