Eating Alone

Tonight I arrived home from work between 5:00 and 6:00, only to find that I could not unlock my front door. I stood there for 20 minutes maneuvering the key in the door knob, trying everything that I know has worked in the past, with no luck. Knowing that Steve would not arrive home until 7:00 P.M. or later, I decided to go have dinner by myself at a local restaurant. Beats sitting in my car for an hour and a half! Eating alone in a restaurant is something I’ve rarely done. Tonight, I actually enjoyed it!

I walked up to the host/hostess podium. “How many?”

“Just me.”

She looked around for a suitable spot.

“The less people, the better,” I offered, helpfully.

I was led to the best possible booth….no table in a restaurant is entirely private, but this one was as good as it gets.

It may be my imagination, but I think it’s possible that one is treated slightly differently when dining alone. For one thing, I had to wait a while to be served. I think that’s probably because the staff assumed that someone else would be joining me. Eventually the manager came and offered to get me a drink, and assured me that a server would be with me shortly. Once she showed up the service was quick and good. But, you know how someone always comes to ask you if everything is alright, just when you’ve taken a bite of food? Tonight they swooped by without really stopping completely. “Everything alright?” Nod. “Enjoy your evening.”

As for me…I did what I would have done at home. Relaxed, checked my email, looked at Facebook, and enjoyed just being by myself
and not having to say a word.

When I got home the door was still jammed. But at least I wasn’t hungry. :0)

3 comments on “Eating Alone”

  1. Jane,

    You write well. While I am a chatter box, I too like to be alone @ times. // I’m not sure how I would do eating alone. // I hope that you had a good meal. // Hope this doesn’t happen again in a hurry.

  2. I delight in solitary restaurant dining ๐Ÿ™‚ Feeling awkward at first, I gradually allowed myself to enjoy being catered to . . . something women in our society are well conditioned to resist. Little did I realize this experience would serve to subtly break down my resistance to ‘receiving’, and gradually chip away at my culturally infused resolve to serve others. Serving others is great, but not at the expense of reciprocity. Without balance comes suffering.

    PS: I also love the company ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Amy, just the other day I was talking to Steve and saying that my mother used to call me “The Peace at All Costs Kid”….. And that after 57 years the cost has become too high. Balance is absolutely necessary. I really enjoyed my time at RR and the next time I do it it will be because I planned to! Too bad you don’t live closer….we could eat out alone together….lol.


Leave a Reply

