Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

Toy Piano

Although I don’t often get the opportunity to go antiquing, one late summer afternoon near the end of the season my husband and I walked past an antique shop that was still open. We didn’t pass it by, and I’m glad we didn’t, because just inside the door, sitting on the floor was a dusty, wooden toy piano. Every key played and, except for the water stain on the top it was in great condition. I am never one to pass a shopping opportunity by, and I don’t know that I’ll ever find another of these. So……I bought it. It looks great with some framed pictures sitting on it in my computer room, and, being a musician, I will put it to use. (There actually are a number of pieces that employ a toy piano. When a composer is trying to evoke childhood memories it’s a natural fit.)

As long as we’re talking about pianos and opportunity, allow me to tell you the story of Arthur Opporknockity, the world’s greatest piano tuner. (I’ll bet you can already tell where this is headed.)

Arthur’s tuning skills were so outstanding that any piano that he serviced sounded better than it ever had before, or would again, because, you see, he was so much in demand for piano tuning that he only had time to tune any piano once. Arthur traveled the world, tuning pianos in opera houses, symphony halls, churches, exclusive restaurants, jazz clubs and in the homes of the most elite pianists. He even tuned the piano of the great Arturo Rubenstein. Several months after working on Maestro Rubenstein’s piano, Arthur received a phone call, requesting a second tuning.

“I’m sorry,” said Arthur, with true regret. ‘I simply don’t have time to tune any piano more than once. Why, the waiting list for a single tuning is over 5 years long!”

Rubenstein would not give up. “Mr. Opporknockity, I beg you to reconsider. After all, I AM the great Arturo Rubenstein.”

“Be that as it may, sir, I simply cannot fit you into my schedule. It is impossible.”

Not one to take “no” for an answer, Rubenstein insisted, “I will pay you anything you ask. Money is no object!”

I am deeply sorry, Maestro Rubenstein,” Arthur responded, “but……..

Opporknockity only tunes once…….”

:0)

Leave a Reply

