One Month Later…..

By: Jane

Feb 04 2012

Tags: , ,

Category: Weight loss

7 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

This picture was taken on February 2nd….one month after my “Before” picture.

https://youonlyhavetogetthrutoday.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/before/

I’m down 6 pounds. Not an earthshaking loss, but it’s 6 pounds less than I weighed a month ago.

I never got around to posting last week, even though I did my “Beginner’s Workout” again, in spite of the pain I was in after the first run. The first time, I was in real, crawl-up-the-stairs-on-your hands-and-knees pain for about 4 days, even though I made all of the modifications Bob Harper suggested, (except not using the weights), and only was able to complete 30 minutes of the 45 minute workout.

Last week, I dropped the weight from 5 pounds to 2 pounds in each hand, and that helped a lot. I still made all of the modifications, but I finished the entire 45 minutes, and never felt weak or dizzy.

This week I finished the 45 minutes and only needed to modify 3 of the exercises. I really didn’t think I’d be able to do this, but I’m getting stronger! I have to admit, I’m still giving him back talk. He can’t hear me anyway.

Now that I’m not having so difficult a time with physical endurance, I’m noticing a few other interesting things. The first isn’t so surprising…my left side is stronger than my right. Actually, I’ve known this for years. As a left-handed piano player, I’ve always come down way too hard on the lower keys. It’s just a bit surprising to me that it’s true of my whole left side. But that may be the reason for the other thing I’m noticing: my balance is terrible. Anything I have to do on one foot is giving me some trouble.

I’m also noticing something that many people might not. As a musician, it drives me nuts when the people on the video aren’t together. Either he’s counting slower than his little friends are moving, or if I watch one of them I’m going too slow, or another and I’m going too fast. Steady beat people! It’s not that hard!

Anyway, I’m still counting calories, still walking a couple of times a week, and doing this workout once a week. I already feel like I’m hitting a plateau though. I haven’t lost anything since last Saturday. I just keep telling myself: “I’m not in a hurry. I’m not in a hurry.”

7 comments on “One Month Later…..”

  1. Jane , how funny I read this now!! I didn’t go to church this morning because I’m feeling like fat spectacle, i have the Bob Harper DVD, did it once this week. I know these feelings are lies from Satan, some days it’s just hard to get past. Making my weight loss journey public might keep me accountable, How do I set something like this up? Thank you for sharing your journey!!

    • Hi Jayne,

      Go to WordPress.com . This is their free blogging site. They pretty much walk you through setting one up. Almost anything can be changed if you find you don’t like it, except the title of your blog, so think about what you want to call it ahead of time. Once you’ve named it, you have to keep the name. (Of course, you can have as many blogs as you want, so you can always start another one.) If you think you need help setting it up let me know. I love doing this and I’d be happy to give you a hand with it. I really think that it is helping me stay on the straight and narrow. I’ve gotten a lot of support, both verbal and practical. I also love to write, and this gives me something to write about. I don’t want to have to write, “I give up”, so I keep going. :0)

  2. I have found that the right side of my body is weaker. I am left-handed and even in exercising, you can tell which side is stronger. Keep working on it and it will even out some.

  3. How about that, Holly! We’re both left handed. Finding more and more things that we have in common. :0)

  4. Yeah Jane! Keep going, it IS working.


Leave a Reply

