Praying for Edward

By: Jane

Jun 13 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: God, Grieving

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:1000
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:

Last Sunday my young friend, Edward Acevedo, died. He was 35 years old, and had a wife and three children. The youngest is eight. The oldest will graduate from high school this week.

I am a person of faith. Specifically, faith in the Father,the Son, Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, and the Bible. But Edward’s trial by cancer has sorely tested my faith over the last eight months. Back in October he was diagnosed with stage 4 kidney cancer. I have been praying for him and his family ever since. Still, he is dead.

My plan is to publish his story as I experienced it, with entries from my journal, beginning from the time I began to pray for him and his family. My purpose is to express the faith journey that I have taken, in hope that it will speak to someone else who experiences doubt, as I have. I would like to begin,though, with where I am now.

Sunday, June 10; 6:48 A.M., Avalon Campground

Good morning, Father. This is the day that the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it. In what will I rejoice?

* Summer has returned. I see the first rays of sunlight dappling the trees outside my window. I think it will be a beautiful day. Steve is here with me, and Ray and Odie.

* In spite of the fact that Edward did not survive this earthly life, he is safely with You in a place far better than even this lovely camp ground on this lovely morning. And since it is given for man to die only once, he will never have to endure another ugly and painful illness

I pray now for Val, Vanedy, Keila and Neno. Maybe it was really for them that I was praying all along, so that they would not have to live the rest of their lives without a husband and father, and so that Edward would not have to endure the pain of cancer. After all, if we really believe that it is better to transition to life in Your presence than to continue to live here; if we are really just waiting here to experience a metamorphosis into what we are finally meant to become, why would we fight death?

It is because the real curse of death is the separation we must endure from those we wanted to be with for always. Grief is its curse. Growing up fatherless; living as a widow. And yet, I have to believe that, just as You had a plan for Edward’s life which has now been completed, You also have a plan for Neno, Keila, Vanedy and Valerie, and that in order for that plan to be executed, they must, for some reason, be as they now are: widowed and fatherless. You have said that You Yourself would be husband to the widow and father to the fatherless. Please make that evident to each of them today…….

Lord, please grant me Your wisdom as to why I never see You heal as You said You would in scripture. Is the time past, when You did that on earth? Because we now have doctors, medicines and medical practices that didn’t exist in Jesus’ time on earth, do the miracles now come through them?

When someone is in advanced stages of cancer, does that mean that you have already decided that their time here is over, and you are giving loved ones the opportunity to say good-bye?

Lord, after all I have seen of this disease, I don’t know that I would fight for my life, should I ever be told that I was in an advanced stage of cancer. I might just ask to be kept comfortable while I made my preparations and said “good-bye for now” to those I love. Of course, I’m speaking from the perspective of a 57-year-old whose children are raised, and who has experienced enough of life’s grief to look forward to something better.

“Blessed are those who have not seen, and yet believe”. I choose to believe, Father. And when I doubt, which I do,”Lord, I believe. Help me in my unbelief.”

I will no longer insert my plan into my prayers. THY will be done.

Monday, June 11, 2012, 8:13 A.M., Avalon Campground

Lord, I seek the gift of faith. You want me to trust You, but I know from experience that someone I have entrusted to Your care can be taken from me anyway, at any moment. So what am I trusting in? That You know best, even when circumstances look bad. “Lean not unto Thine own understanding. Trust Me, no matter what.” As a parent I know that I’ve had to do things that my children would not like, for their own good. How hard is that to understand?

So, I ask for faith. I ask for wisdom. I ask for forgiveness and mercy. Lord, I believe. HELP ME in my unbelief.

I pray for Your comfort for Val, Vanedy, Keila and Neno.

2 comments on “Praying for Edward”

  1. Aww, what a sweet post. I am so sorry about your friend. I wish I had the answers for you. I will pray for them and you.

  2. Thanks Holly. I wish you did too. No easy answers, I guess. Glad to hear from you, though. :0)


Leave a Reply

